4/52 – At Home 1, Collections

Well, having started off with a load of Venice-related posts, I have become rather unstuck for week 4. I’ve been back at work for two weeks now, leaving not a lot of time for inspirational photography, or anything but eating, sleeping, catching trains and editing reams of legal argument. Being January, the weather isn’t great so this week I decided to restrict myself to the house and see what I could find. After a quick look at some Project 52 ideas (thank you Pinterest) I fixed on the idea of collections for this week. Initially I thought I didn’t collect anything, but a quick look around the house proved me wrong.

IMG_0343
Tiles. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Some years ago, I had the idea that one day I will tile part of my kitchen with mis-matched tiles that I’d picked up on my travels. Well, so far I haven’t got round to that and these beautifully coloured tiles sit on the dining table. There are tiles here from India, Granada, Sicily, Holland and Marrakesh.

IMG_0316
Paperclips. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Now paperclips count as a minor obsession of mine. I have a slightly kleptomaniac approach to these, and am in the habit of picking them up if I see them lying around. In the event of a world-wide paperclip shortage, I’ll be laughing.

IMG_0357
Wooden Utensils. Copyright Fiona Michie.

As with tiles, I like to buy unusual wooden utensils on my travels and am sometimes given them as gifts too. The curvy knife is from Lapland, courtesy of a friend, the long spoon and two curved spatulas are from Latvia, the salad servers from Santorini and the ladle and lemon juicer from a wood fair in Sussex. I love their shapes and the tactile feel of the wood.

IMG_0441
Golf Tee and Brush. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Golf tees drive me nuts and I want to rid the world of them. My other half plays golf and these little things turn up all over the place; in the washing machine, on the sofa, in the bathroom, in the sock drawer, in the bottom of my feet … I swear they breed.

Leave a Reply

