5/52 At Home 2, Abstracts

Following on from week 4’s post, for the last week of January I decided to look at abstract images of everyday objects and things that I could find around the house. The last two of these were taken with a 60mm macro lens and make use of quite heavy bokeh or edge blur.

IMG_0250
Shadows. Copyright Fiona Michie.

This is the shadow cast by the light shining on the laundry basket in our spare room. I liked the pattern it made.

IMG_0390
Cyclamen. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Macro shots of flowers can be a bit boring, but I liked the abstract nature of this black and white shot of the flowers on a potted cyclamen which sits on the window sill of our landing.

IMG_0412
Abstract of a Fork. Copyright Fiona Michie.

I was looking at a fork which was sitting on the dining table and it struck me that it had interesting lines. I tried a few macro shots close in on the curves at the bottom of the tines, but really liked what happened when I turned the fork around and focused on the points of the tines instead. It reminds me of the sort of mystery object questions you sometimes get in quizzes.

Leave a Reply

