20/52 Shorncliffe Military Cemetery

After the bright colours of my last post, this might seem like a bit of a depressing subject matter, but I was on my way home from tennis last week when I thought I’d take a quick walk around Shorncliffe Cemetery, which has a great view.

It’s an odd place because it started as a typical parish graveyard, but became a military cemetery during the First World War, so unlike any other War Graves Commission cemetery I have seen (not many I grant you), there are old civilian graves dotted amongst the uniform white military stones and among the long grass on the hillside. A walk down a row or two of the neat military graves tells a sad tale. There are a lot of Canadian soldiers buried here, far from home, and nearly all of them died within a few months in 1916. A sobering thought.

I had intended, when I grabbed my camera, to take some views from the cemetery as there was a blueish misty haze over Hythe and Sandgate and it looked lovely to the eye, but not to the lens unfortunately. My eye was caught by the shapes and patterns formed by the graves though (they look strangely like dominoes from some angles) and the following black and white shots are the result of this.

IMG_2396
Gravestones. Copyright Fiona Michie.
IMG_2408
Canadian Military Graves from WWI, Shorncliffe. Copyright Fiona Michie.
IMG_2425
Military Cemetery, Shorncliffe. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Leave a Reply

