24/52 Cephalonia 2 – Night shots

Something I only recently discovered is that I love low light photography. I enjoy the challenge of trying to squeeze as much out of the day as possible and using the lack of light in interesting ways rather than resorting to flash.

In the spirit of my new-found enthusiasm, here are some shots I took in Fiskardo one evening. Fiskardo is a bustling little port on the northern tip of Cephalonia and when the sun goes down and all the yachties are sipping ouzo on their decks, the lights reflect in the water and creates lovely effects. I will apologise for the fact that I didn’t use a tripod. I know you should for slow shutter speeds, but I was on holiday and I was taking these before dinner and who wants to sit and eat at a restaurant with a great big tripod getting in the way of the waiters?

Fiskardo harbour, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Fiskardo harbour, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Shop display, Fiskardo, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Shop display, Fiskardo, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.

The next shot uses a technique I tried out for the first time a few posts ago, intentional camera movement or ICM. I like the colours in this one, and the hint of lights reflected in the sea.

ICM Fiskardo harbour. Copyright Fiona Michie.
ICM Fiskardo harbour. Copyright Fiona Michie.

The final shot is a boat we spotted moored at Foki Bay. It was one of the most beautiful yachts I’ve seen, clearly very modern but with lovely lines. Definitely the one I’d buy if I had pots of money. We’d seen this boat in the light on our way to dinner and on our return it was lit up from the tip of the mast down, providing the only lights in the bay. It’s a really dark shot, but I like it.

Yacht of my dreams, Foki Bay, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Yacht of my dreams, Foki Bay, night. Copyright Fiona Michie.
4 comments on “24/52 Cephalonia 2 – Night shots

  1. Ciao, ragazza, the yacht of your dreams is NOT a dark photo but a wonderfully seen boat image. I love the fact that you did not make yet another horizontal side view. Really mysterious, really elegant. Conjures up a spinal column, to me anyway. Mille baci…FVR

    Like

Leave a Reply

