25/52 Portraits

Well, now I am equipped with a new camera (a Canon 7DII since you ask) Project 52 is up and running again. I haven’t yet calculated how many weeks behind this is now running, but I’d imagine I am significantly behind target, something I will try and rectify in the coming days.

It’s always a struggle to get to grips with a new piece of technology, especially when it arrives set up in Japanese and with a Japanese manual to boot, but I am slowly getting to grips with the new camera, and am hoping things will improve yet further now I have mastered the focus selection capability.

To give myself some practice, I took these photos at my birthday lunch and my tennis club’s annual vintage tournament. I am not a portrait photographer, people have never been my thing, but I decided to put myself out of my comfort zone for this week’s post.

The first set are friends of mine who put up with a camera being shoved in their faces because it was my birthday and they had to. I hope I’ve captured a hint of their personalities here and I hope they will still be my friends when they see this!

0X9A0044
Copyright Fiona Michie.
0X9A0052
Copyright Fiona Michie.
0X9A0035
Copyright Fiona Michie.  

On to the vintage tournament. Hythe Tennis club holds a tournament each year using old wooden framed racquets. Saturday was a gloriously sunny day and the shadows were very tough to contend with, but I’m quite pleased with a couple of these.

 

0X9A0340
One of our coaches inspects an old racquet. Copyright Fiona Michie.
0X9A0373
Prizes for fancy dress are handed out. Copyright Fiona Michie.

The final two shots show just how much better I am at taking portraits of animals than I am of humans. I don’t understand why this is, but it has always been the case. These are both of the lovely Harvey, our club Chairwoman’s dog. By some fluke, I caught him licking his lips at the sight of cake in the first image.

0X9A0367
Harvey licks his lips. Copyright Fiona Michie.
0X9A0368
Harvey. Copyright Fiona Michie.

 

Leave a Reply

