37/52 Norfolk (3) Holkham Hall

This third set of images from Norfolk were taken at Holkham Hall, an amazing mansion in the symmetrical Palladian style. I was feeling a bit ropey when we were there, so there aren’t many pics to choose from, but I quite liked what’s here. I make no apologies for the chocolate box exterior shot, it was a perfect chocolate box kind of day – what was I to do?!

Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.

These interior shots show some glorious architectural details. The second one was a tricky one as the window tended to overexpose the foreground, so I went as dark as I could without losing the detail of the doorway. It is still a tad bleached around the chandelier, and the detail of the top of the window is lost, but I think I can live with that as I was more interested in the way the arches and lines of the floorboards lead you into the shot.

0x9a1080
Gilded apse, Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.
0x9a1082
Doorway, Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Finally, this is what I like to think of as the “peasant’s eye view” of the Holkham gardens. They are raised above the surrounding park land and screened by a balustrade which any passers-by would have had to stand on tiptoe to peer through. I liked the way the fountain’s central statue was framed between these two curvaceous pillars.

St George in the middle of a spot of dragon slaying. Gardens, Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.
St George in the middle of a spot of dragon slaying. Gardens, Holkham Hall. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Leave a Reply

