44/52 Still Life – Pumpkin

Now, Halloween isn’t really a big thing in the UK, but when I was growing up, my friends and I always dressed up as witches, black cats, vampires, ghosts and other supernatural beings and went out trick or treating or had a Halloween party. As I loved ghost stories and myths and legends, I always preferred Halloween to Bonfire Night. Less chance of being maimed by fireworks too.

For this post, which is pretty late now, I looked at that Halloween staple, the pumpkin. They’re beautiful vegetables (or are they fruit?) with their glossy orange skin and gnarly stalks and they look wonderful spotlit from above, as I found out by accident when I put one on our kitchen table. I’m not 100% satisfied with the results here, I’d have liked more definition in the lines, and I wish I had turned the pumpkin so that the bruise wasn’t centre stage, but I like the way it glows in the darkness.

Still life with pumpkin. Copyright Fiona Michie.
Still life with pumpkin. Copyright Fiona Michie.

 

Leave a Reply

