45/52 Nature’s Patterns

The weather has turned truly British and wintery this week, but just before it did, I got in a brief potter in the garden looking for interesting macro shots. It was a dewy morning when I took my camera out and the lawn was covered in tiny spiders’ webs, each of which was laced with tiny jewel-like water droplets, forming pretty patterns in the grass. They also appeared on the leaves of my euphorbia plant, shining against the grey-green foliage.

0x9a1907
Dewy spider’s web. Copyright Fiona Michie.
0x9a1938
Water droplets on euphorbia leaves. Copyright Fiona Michie.

For a change, it was a very still morning when I went out with the macro lens, usually the wind picks up the second I attach the 60mm to my camera. I was therefore able to capture this close-up of a dandelion clock, showing the star-like seed heads. I opted for black and white here so there was less distraction from the dainty patterns.

0x9a1919
Dandelion clock. Copyright Fiona Michie.

Lastly, I was surprised to find a rose in flower at the beginning of November, but here it is in all of its late blooming glory.

0x9a1896
A winter rose. Copyright Fiona Michie.

 

Leave a Reply

